Introduction

Introduction

In case these following months kill me (joke…kind of) I thought it would be prudent to record exactly what I’m trying to do and how I’m going about it, either as a declaration of intent or maybe even a inspiration to others in my position. My name is Robert Wolf and I am 15 stone and 5 foot 5…in other words the NHS (National Health Service) class me as MO (Morbidly Obese) so much so I have been tested for diabetes type two. As it is I have a serious congenital heart condition something that has plagued me since birth, I also have Obstructive sleep apnoea  coupled with severe insomnia and have recently been diagnosed with Juvenile myclonic epilepsy (the only word of which I under stood and completely registered was epilepsy). Since I have these problems I am dead set against developing type to diabetes, I have enough problems as is.

My problem with fitness is I’ve never actually found a sport or physical activity that was cheap and I enjoyed…until recently I was introduced to parkour, urban climbing and kite boarding…all of which are fun, interesting and apart from the last free, but unfortunately all require a certain degree of physical fitness, which I certainly don’t have. So that is ultimately my goal to reach a level of fitness where I can start learning these sports and stand a chance of becoming proficient in them. This starts today. I’ve been referred to a gym, written a programme for myself using the websites Nerd Fitness (www.nerdfitness.com) and Darebee training (www.darebee.com) using these two sites I’ve written myself a schedule as well as a target, by the end of February (under six weeks) I want to be able to run or jog 1KM (0.62 miles) by the end of June I want to be able to run 5KM and perform 10 pull-ups. This is my target, only them will I see myself as being fit enough to begin learning the sports I wish to take up…though I will learn and practice the basics even if I cannot perform them properly.

For the first month this will be my routine:

I will focus on finishing the Foundation Program from Darebee, (http://darebee.com/programs/foundation-program.html), a plan which is a 30 day workout routine along with the ‘Katana Warm Up’ (http://darebee.com/workouts/katana-warmup.html) , I plan to Gym and swim Monday, Wednesday and Friday, and every other day doing the ‘Beginner Body Weight workout’ (https://www.nerdfitness.com/blog/beginner-body-weight-workout-burn-fat-build-muscle/), The Katana, Gym and Body weight work out will increase in reps, weight and difficulty as i progress. I have also joined Geocahing (https://www.geocaching.com), a huge scavenger hunt that encourages people to get out into their environment and searching for hidden cashes to either just sign or to exchange little ‘treasures’. I plan to try and find 5-10 a week, travelling to find them if i have to.
As I approach the beginning of my ‘journey’ to a fitter me I look down at the beer gut I have accumulated and I swear goodbye.  To keep track of my progress I will take pictures (of my activities), record my weight twice a week and take pictures of my torso as it disappears to be forgotten as a part of me I will gladly forget.

katana-warmup

Katana warmup

Standard

Leave a Reply

